To create a new Post, click on Posts in the Dashboard Navigation Menu on the left side and choose Add New. Note: When the site is created, it has a Sample post. You can delete that.
Enter a Title for the post in the “Enter title here” field. You want your title to be unique and descriptive, but at the same, time fairly short.
Editing a Post
To edit an existing page or post, you have two options.
Your first option is through your Dashboard Navigation Menu, by selecting Posts, and then searching through the list of posts on your site, and clicking on the title of the post you want to edit.
A second option and quicker way to edit a post is through the Admin bar that appears at the top of your web browser. Once you are logged into the WordPress site, navigate through your site as usual and when you land on the post you want to edit, click on Edit Post in the Admin bar. This will open that post in the editor.
Posts can be added to Categories by selecting the checkbox for each category as desired.
Save Draft – save your page/post in draft form so you can work on its content at different times without it appearing on the live site.
Preview – view your page/post as it would appear on the live site.
Visibility – settings which affect the ability of website visitors to view the post.
Visibility options are:
- Public – All visitors can view the post. This is the default setting.
- Password protected – assign a password of your choosing to the post and only those with the password can view that particular post.
- Private – the post can only be viewed by site WordPress users with specific access to view private posts.
Revisions – view all revisions to the post by each user.
Publish – the page/post is finalized and viewable by site visitors. However, you can edit this setting to publish your page at a later date. Click on Edit, then choose the date you would like your page/post to be published. On that date, the system will publish your page/post automatically.
Move to Trash – delete the page/post from your site. Pages/Posts remain in the Trash and can be restored for 30 days.